Penguin Rights: Welcome


Welcome to the Penguin Rights Website

Here you can keep up to date with all Penguin and Puffin Rights news. Click on Penguin or Puffin to view current highlights, and keep an eye on our gold bestseller labels – these are titles that have already been snapped up in multiple territories. Head to 'advanced search' to find details of rights holders, rights deals and title info across over 15,000 books. We hope you enjoy looking around - don’t forget to check back here often to discover our latest news and acquisitions.

The Rights Team


Latest News

CHILDREN'S HIGHLIGHTS 2019

Penguin Random House Children’s are delighted to share some highlights for the Bologna Book Fair

LITTLE RED RIDING HOOD retold by Beatrix Potter illustrated by Helen Oxenbury (colour)
A deliciously dark retelling of this classic fairy tale which brings together master storyteller Beatrix Potter and world-renowned illustrator Helen Oxenbury, two of the world’s greatest children’s book creators.
World Rights: PRHC UK

HEY GRANDUDE by Paul McCartney (colour)
A magical adventure for all the family from beloved music legend Paul McCartney, taking readers around the world and back in time for bed! Illustrated by Kathryn Durst, it’s the perfect bedtime story for little explorers.
Translation Rights: PRHC UK | US Rights: PRH US

HIDDEN PLANET by Ben Rothery (colour)
An illustrator’s love letter to planet Earth.
World Rights: PRHC UK

THE CHRISTMASAURUS AND THE WINTER WITCH by Tom Fletcher (fiction)
The eagerly anticipated sequel to Tom Fletcher’s bestselling magical adventure The Christmasaurus which has been translated into 23 languages. Full of magic, music, humour and heart, and a friendship like no other. This is the most enchanting Christmas read for the whole family.
World Rights: PRHC UK

PRETTY FUNNY FOR A GIRL by Rebecca Elliot (fiction)
A feel-good, empowering coming-if age novel, perfect for fans of Geek Girl and How to Build a Girl from the best-selling author of Owl Diaries.
World Rights: PRHC UK

ST MARY'S CATHOLIC SCHOOL PRESENTS THE VAGINA MONOLOGUES by Flynn Meaney (fiction)
The funniest feminist book you’ll read all year – a-must-have for fans of Holly Bourne and Caitlin Moran. Sparky, refreshing, sex-positive and feel-good with strong and timely messages about feminism, consent and LGBTQ+ rights.
World Rights: PRHC UK

HARROW LAKE by Kat Ellis (fiction)
The Hazel Wood meets Stephen King in this YS horror-thriller about Lola Nox, a teenager who finds herself trapped in a town harbouring legends and secrets that turn her world upside down.
Translation Rights: PRHC UK | US Rights: Kathy Dawson Books, Penguin Young Readers

LONDON HIGHLIGHTS 2019

The Penguin Adult Rights team is delighted to announce our highlights for the London Book Fair 2019.

The Two Lives of Lydia Bird by Josie Silver
From the Sunday Times and New York Times top ten bestselling author, Josie Silver, a fabulous new novel about love, loss and new beginnings.
Translation Rights: Penguin UK | US Rights: Ballantine

‘Til Wrong Feels Rights: Lyrics and Pictures of Iggy Pop by Iggy Pop
A collection of lyrics, essays and photographs from one of music’s most iconic, outrageous and enduring music artists – immersing you in the creative world and genre-defining career of Iggy Pop.
Translation Rights: Penguin UK | US Rights: Clarkson Potter

The Matter of Being Human by Camilla Pang
A user’s guide to life from the illuminating perspective of a young woman on the autistic spectrum. Mixing popular science with personal memoir, she offers 11 lessons for navigating the complexities of human nature and social norms.
Translation Rights: Penguin UK | US Rights: Penguin UK

Exhale by Richie Bostock
A practical and inspiring guide on the science and art of breathwork from world leading expert Richie Bostock – with exercises to reduce stress, improve creativity, tackle back pain or chronic ailments, conscious breathing has benefits for everyone.
Translation Rights: Penguin UK | US Rights: Penguin UK

The Boundless Sea by David Abulafia
A titanic history of the three great oceans - the Atlantic, the Pacific and the Indian - and of mankind's relationship with the sea from the first voyagers to the present day.
Translation Rights: Penguin UK | US Rights: Oxford University Press

Trinity by Frank Close
A thrilling new narrative history of the most damaging nuclear spy ever to undermine the West, by a distinguished nuclear physicist.
Translation Rights: Penguin UK | US Rights: Penguin UK

The Zoologist’s Guide to the Galaxy by Dr Arik Kershenbaum
Using cutting-edge science to paint an entertaining and compelling picture of extra-terrestrial life, this book tells the story of communication, intelligence, cooperation and technology on Earth and in space, showing how life really works - and what it means to be human.
Translation Rights: Penguin UK | US Rights: Penguin UK