Penguin Rights: Welcome


Welcome to the Penguin Rights Website

Here you can keep up to date with all Penguin and Puffin Rights news. Click on Penguin or Puffin to view current highlights, and keep an eye on our gold bestseller labels – these are titles that have already been snapped up in multiple territories. Head to 'advanced search' to find details of rights holders, rights deals and title info across over 15,000 books. We hope you enjoy looking around - don’t forget to check back here often to discover our latest news and acquisitions.

The Rights Team


Latest News

FRANKFURT HIGHLIGHTS 2017

The Penguin Adult Rights team is delighted to announce our highlights for the Frankfurt Book Fair 2017.

ONE DAY IN DECEMBER by Josie Silver
With rights sold in 12 territories in the last few weeks, ONE DAY IN DECEMBER is an uplifting, romantic and feel-good love story, for fans of Jojo Moyes and Nicholas Sparks.

THE GLASS WOMAN by Caroline Lea
A thrilling story of power, lust and deception set in seventeenth-century Iceland.

THE POISON BED by EC Fremantle
October 1615. Frances Howard is beautiful, captivating and from a notoriously powerful family. Robert Carr is one of the richest and most influential men in King James' court. One of them is a murderer. One of them is lying. But who should we believe?

SHINRIN YOKU by Dr Qing Li
The Japanese Art and Science of Forest Bathing: A beautifully illustrated guide to how walking in the woods can have transformative effects on your health and wellbeing .

SENSEHACKING by Charles Spence
The secrets of the senses, and how we can use them to live well, by the bestselling author of GASTROPHYSICS.

LICENCE TO BE BAD by Jonathan Aldred
A searing exploration of how we have come to believe it’s rational to be immoral, through the justification of efficiency and economics.

THE INNER LEVEL by Wilkinson and Pickett
The sequel to the global phenomenon The Spirit Level, this book explores the impact of inequality on the individual: reducing stress, restoring sanity and improving everybody’s wellbeing.

CHARLES DE GAULLE by Julian Jackson
The definitive modern biography of the greatest French statesman of modern times, by the leading expert in his field.

CHILDREN'S HIGHLIGHTS 2017

Penguin Random House Children’s are delighted to share some highlights for Frankfurt Book Fair

THE TRUTH AND LIES OF ELLA BLACK by Emily Barr (fiction)
The Truth and Lies of Ella Black tackles that most gripping subject: what if your whole life was based on a lie – and everything you thought was certain is no longer so?
In January 2018 Ella Black will learn her truth. It is darker. It is scarier. It will change her world forever.
13 Languages Sold: Bulgarian, Canadian, Catalan, French, Hebrew, Hungarian, Italian, Portuguese, Portuguese – Brazil, Russian, Spanish, Turkish, US

CHARLIE CHANGES INTO A CHICKEN by Sam Copeland (fiction)
An unstoppably funny adventure from a major new voice in middle grade fiction.
Charlie's just learnt that when he gets properly, sweatily, heartpumpingly stressed, he turns in to an animal, all sorts of animals. A flea. A pigeon. A rhino. Who knows what's next?
Sam Copeland is a literary agent and director at Rogers, Coleridge and White.
7 Languages Sold: Dutch, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, Italian, Norwegian

TWELVE NIGHTS by Andrew Zurcher (fiction)
Timeless magical literary fantasy in the vein of Philip Pullman and C.S. Lewis.
Kay and her little sister, Eloise, never imagined that their standard icy Christmas Eve in Cambridge would be the start of a twelve-night odyssey…
Andrew Zurcher is an incredible new writing talent – a storyteller passionate about stories, writing for readers from 9-99.
Languages Sold: US

THE ROSEWOOD CHRONICLES by Connie Glynn (fiction)
The Princess Diaries meets Harry Potter in brand new series The Rosewood Chronicles.
A thrilling world of parties, politics and badass princesses, this is the first book in the brand new series THE ROSEWOOD CHRONICLES.
10 Languages Sold: Czech, French, German, Hebrew, Lithuanian, Polish, Romanian, Russian, Slovak, US

THE CREAKERS by Tom Fletcher (fiction)
Imaginative and atmospheric, The Creakers is packed with adventure, humour, spookiness and mystery. Featuring a fun and diverse cast, it’s the perfect book to read together as a family at bedtime, or for young readers to read alone.
Tom Fletcher is also the author of The Christmasaurus, the bestselling middle-grade debut of 2016.
Languages Sold: US

COPA 90: OUR WORLD CUP (colour)
Copa90's ultimate guide to the greatest show on Earth: the FIFA World Cup Russia 2018.
This isn't just a book about the big teams and the star names - it's the real football fan's World Cup book. Penned by Copa90's own in-house team of football fanatics, it has something for everyone.

THE BANDIT QUEEN by Lauren and Natalia O’Hara (colour)
This follow-up to the stunning debut Hortense and the Shadow is a wildly original take on the changeling story. A funny, touching tale that shows that love can conquer all.

HOW TO BE A LION by Ed Vere (colour)
You don’t need to ROAR to be heard! From New York Times-bestselling author Ed Vere, this thought-provoking, witty and entirely relevant picture book is a celebration of quiet courage and being yourself.

PETER RABBIT MOVIE (licensing) (colour)
The very first movie adaptation inspired by Beatrix Potter’s internationally beloved characters! This exhilarating blend of live action and CGI animation brings us a fresh, modern tale about Peter Rabbit and his ongoing rivalry with Mr. McGregor.
A collaboration between Sony’s Columbia Pictures and Frederick Warne & Co., part of Penguin Random House UK.