Penguin Rights: Welcome

Welcome to the Penguin Rights Website

Here you can keep up to date with all Penguin and Puffin Rights news. Click on Penguin or Puffin to view current highlights, and keep an eye on our gold bestseller labels – these are titles that have already been snapped up in multiple territories. Head to 'advanced search' to find details of rights holders, rights deals and title info across over 15,000 books. We hope you enjoy looking around - don’t forget to check back here often to discover our latest news and acquisitions.

The Rights Team

Latest News


Penguin Random House Children’s are delighted to share some highlights for the Bologna Book Fair

THE TRUTH ABOUT KEEPING SECRETS by Savannah Brown (fiction)
Sydney’s father was the only psychiatrist in their small Ohio town. When he dies unexpectedly, his funeral is filled with his grateful clients. So why is prom princess and cheerleader June Copeland there?
As Sydney and June get closer, she begins to see the real person behind the picture-perfect image. But someone is not happy with the teenagers' new friendship – and as Sydney starts receiving increasingly sinister messages, it becomes more important than ever to learn the truth.

TWELVE NIGHTS by Andrew Zurcher (fiction)
Kay and her little sister, Eloise, never imagined that their standard icy Christmas Eve in Cambridge would be the start of a twelve-night odyssey…
Timeless magical literary fantasy in the vein of Philip Pullman and C.S. Lewis.
5 Languages Sold: Czech, Russian, Slovak, Turkish, US

THE PROOF OF THE OUTSIDE by Sarah Ann Juckes (fiction)
Here’s the thing about being Inside. Ain’t no one believes that they are.
Ele is kept captive in a small room by a man known as ‘Him’. She has never been Outside but she knows it’s there and she’s determined to prove it.
When Ele eventually escapes, she is forced to question everything she has ever known.

EVE OF MAN by Giovanna and Tom Fletcher (fiction)
Eve is the last girl on earth. Her fate is to save mankind from extinction.
All her life she has been kept away from the opposite sex, raised in the safety of the Dome. But tomorrow is Eve’s sixteenth birthday and everything will change. Three potential mates have been carefully selected for her to choose from. Eve has always accepted this as her destiny. Until Bram.
But how do you choose between love and the future of the human race?
Languages Sold: US

CHARLIE CHANGES INTO A CHICKEN by Sam Copeland (fiction)
Charlie McGuffin is an optimist, but things are conspiring against him. His brother is in hospital waiting for an operation, his parents are trying to hide how worried they are, and the school bully is upping the ante in Charlie’s direction.
The thing is, Charlie's never really been stressed before – not properly, sweatily, heartpumpingly stressed – and with everything going on at home plus all the normal worries at school, he's starting to panic. And this is bad, because Charlie's just learnt that when he gets properly, sweatily, heartpumpingly stressed, he turns into an animal, all sorts of animals. A flea. A pigeon. A rhino. Who knows what's next?
14 Languages sold: Czech, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, Italian, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Spanish, Turkish

LOOK UP! by Nathan Bryon (colour)
A heartfelt future classic starring a strong, aspirational little girl who wants everybody to LOOK UP from what they’re doing and reach for the stars! This debut picture book encourages children and parents to believe in themselves and delight in the excitement of the world around them.

A gorgeous illustrated collection of six empowering fairy tales and fables from around the world, perfect for ages 4 and up.

See the lifecycle of butterflies in upsized, vibrant detail in this stunning debut from one of the UK’s finest natural history illustrators.

TOCA BOCA (colour)
Toca Boca apps are cool, cute and funny. They’ve been downloaded over 100 million times and now there’s a brand new way to creatively play with your favourite characters in our new range of sticker books.


The Penguin Adult Rights team is delighted to announce our highlights for the Frankfurt Book Fair 2017.

With rights sold in 12 territories in the last few weeks, ONE DAY IN DECEMBER is an uplifting, romantic and feel-good love story, for fans of Jojo Moyes and Nicholas Sparks.

THE GLASS WOMAN by Caroline Lea
A thrilling story of power, lust and deception set in seventeenth-century Iceland.

THE POISON BED by EC Fremantle
October 1615. Frances Howard is beautiful, captivating and from a notoriously powerful family. Robert Carr is one of the richest and most influential men in King James' court. One of them is a murderer. One of them is lying. But who should we believe?

The Japanese Art and Science of Forest Bathing: A beautifully illustrated guide to how walking in the woods can have transformative effects on your health and wellbeing .

SENSEHACKING by Charles Spence
The secrets of the senses, and how we can use them to live well, by the bestselling author of GASTROPHYSICS.

LICENCE TO BE BAD by Jonathan Aldred
A searing exploration of how we have come to believe it’s rational to be immoral, through the justification of efficiency and economics.

THE INNER LEVEL by Wilkinson and Pickett
The sequel to the global phenomenon The Spirit Level, this book explores the impact of inequality on the individual: reducing stress, restoring sanity and improving everybody’s wellbeing.

CHARLES DE GAULLE by Julian Jackson
The definitive modern biography of the greatest French statesman of modern times, by the leading expert in his field.